About Us


Our mission is to serve and improve the quality of life for the poor and homeless.




Jacob “Jake” Ferro

Executive Director


Valerie Sewell

Director of Operations


John Sewell

General Service Manager

Board of Directors

  • Joel Grist, President
  • Debra Singleton, Vice President
  • Brent Gunn, Treasurer
  • Joseph D. Greene, Secretary
  • Kyra Osmus, Secretary
  • Edwina Beall
  • Debra Brunner-Smith
  • Latrice Davis
  • Pastor John Herring
  • Gerri Marion-McCord
  • Ronnie Mays
  • Pastor Derick Thomas
  • Sherrill Tull
  • Vicki Williams
  • Harold Young
  • Curtis White
  • Caitlyn Bowlds

Church Partners

  • Christ Episcopal
  • Glorious Hope Baptist
  • Greater Bellevue Baptist
  • Northminster Presbyterian
  • St. Andrews Presbyterian
  • St. Francis Episcopal
  • St. Paul’s Episcopal
  • Stone Edge Church
  • Washington Ave. Presbyterian

A Brief History of Loaves and Fishes

Loaves and Fishes Ministry of Macon has been providing essential services to low and moderate-income, homeless individuals and families at-risk of homelessness is Middle Georgia for 54 years. LFM-Macon is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit corporation initially formed in 1967 as two separate ministries: (a) Macon Inner-City Ministry (the Presbyterian Church community) and (b) Community Advocacy Ministry (CAM) (an interdenominational group of downtown churches). As the two groups primary focus and services were the same, they ultimately merged into what today is known as “Loaves and Fishes Ministry of Macon.” We are currently blessed with 10 member churches: Christ Episcopal, Glorious Hope Baptist, Greater Bellevue Baptist, Northminster Presbyterian, St. Andrews Presbyterian, St. Francis Episcopal, St. Paul’s Episcopal, Stone Edge Church, Washington Avenue Presbyterian, and St. Patrick’s Catholic Church.

 “The mission of Loaves and Fishes is to serve and improve the quality of life for the poor and homeless in Middle Georgia.” The services provided at LFM-Macon are designed to address the needs and problems experienced by the homeless, low and moderate-income individuals and families, and other underserved populations. More specifically, the method by which LFM-Macon addresses poverty and homelessness is to provide access to services that increases the capacity of the client to either become or remain self-sustaining. LFM-Macon continually strives to assist its clients with core services central to addressing unmet community needs by providing essential services in a primary location, which is referred to as the Jack Steppe Day Life Center, located at 651 MLK Jr. Blvd, Macon, GA. Everything we do to help those in need is made possible by the generosity of our Church partners and our wonderful community.

The Jack Steppe Day Life Center provides groceries, meals, laundry services, bible class, case work, prescription assistance, Georgia ID and Birth Certificate assistance, and referrals to other service agencies. All services provided through our Jack Steppe Day Life Center are provided free of charge.